Thursday, September 29, 2011

Adrian Phoenix--Beneath the Skin (The Maker's Song #3)


The dark pieces of vampire rock star Dante Baptiste's past are violently emerging, and it is only a matter of time before the Fallen discover he is the creature they have sought for thousands of years. The destruction he left behind in Oregon threatens to reveal his identity as Maker and True Blood, exposing the young nightkind to shadowy predators -- mortal and supernatural -- who will do whatever it takes to win his favor... or destroy him.


When beautiful FBI agent Heather Wallace went AWOL on assignment, she chose irresistible Dante over the shady government forces that now stalk them both. Heather has her own secrets of the past to uncover, but she is also the only one who can hold her nightkind lover together when his dangerous quest for the truth threatens to send him over the edge. And as she and Dante fight for their survival, she realizes they must work together to protect their future -- before his mysterious destiny tears them apart.

{4 stars}
Finally....It took me forever to get through this book. I kept putting it down to read other stuff. I really do love Dante's story......but.....It's not fluid and fast enough for me. The story gets bogged down for me with all the "shadow branch" deception. The amount of pages covering the secret government groups and their evil plots is, well, just plain boring to me. I get it already (so I started skimming through those parts). And I realize that they are a part of Dante's history and the reason he is so damaged. But, I repeat, I get it already. That being said, that is my only complaint about the series. Dante and Heather are amazing lead characters, and their entourage are lovable and charming and I'm just as attached to them. There is a lot of tragedy in this book, we flashback thru Dante's childhood learning all the awful things that were done do him. It makes you love him even more. Without giving any spoilers away, this is an essential book in the series. The pieces to a very large and layered puzzle are snapping into place. And all is not lost for some key characters. And I will even go on to read the next one....I've become adept at skimming the evil government parts and focusing on my crush on Dante......

Saturday, September 24, 2011

Rob Blackwell--A Soul to Steal

Paranormal Thriller

You Are What You Fear

Something is stalking the citizens of Loudoun County, Va.

Is it the return of the notorious serial killer known as Lord Halloween? Or is it something worse—a figure that can cloak itself as your worst nightmare?

Kate and Quinn, two community journalists, rush to uncover the truth before a promised bloodbath on Halloween night.

The debut novel from award-winning journalist Rob Blackwell, A Soul to Steal balances suspense, horror, action and humor, building to a gripping and unforgettable conclusion. For readers who enjoy Stephen King, Neil Gaiman and Jim Butcher, A Soul to Steal is the perfect autumn novel.

{4 stars}
I genuinely liked this story. I love Fall and all things Halloween, so this was the perfect story to start the season. Blackwell does Halloween legends justice in his debut novel. The story is multi-layered, using Halloween legends mixed with a good old twisted psychopathic thriller.  The clues were there along the way, but I wasn't even close to guessing who the real psychopath was. I love that in a book, I want to keep guessing and turning the pages rushing to the end. I don't scare easily, but I can see where this story might cause a few people to sleep with the lights on. And I am thrilled that this appears to be the first in a trilogy about Kate and Quinn, I can't wait to see what happens to them next.

Kindle book provided by author.

Sunday, September 18, 2011

Lora Leigh--Midnight Sins (The Callahan's #1)

Erotic suspense/thriller

His name is Rafer Callahan. He was a kid from the wrong side of the tracks who fought through life the only way he knew how: with his fists. But Rafer never meant to bring any harm to Cambria Flannigan, the girl—the lover—whose sister he’d been unable to save…

Cami lost her sister in the brutal murders that rocked her hometown so many years ago. Some still believe that Rafe, along with his friends Logan and Crowe, were involved. But how could Rafe—who haunted her girlish dreams, then her adult fantasies—be a killer? That is the question that keeps her up at night.

Now a prosperous ranch owner, Rafe is trying to build a new legacy for himself. It’s finally time to settle the score with Cami—and make her his. But old wounds open up with a series of new murders…and each of the victims has a connection to Rafe, Logan, and Crowe. With suspicion, fear, and loyalty tearing her apart, Cami is once again at risk of losing her heart—or her life.

{3 stars}   
I'm completely confused. This book is slow moving, long winded, badly proof read, and leaves you with way more questions than answers. The backstory is so complicated with even more complicated family trees, that I wasn't really sure what was going on. The only thing for certain is the passion and love between Cami and Rafe. That, in true Leigh fashion, is a detailed sexual component that traverses most of the book. I did wind up skimming most of it trying to get to a more "active" storyline. And I really like the 3 cousins, but if it weren't for the fact that I really needed to know who the killer was I wouldn't have finished the book. I will still give the second in this series a try, I'm hoping it will level off and answer some of the lingering questions as to what the hell is really going on? Who is behind all of this?

Monday, September 12, 2011

Nalini Singh--Archangels Blade (Guild Hunter novel)

Paranormal Romance

The severed head marked by a distinctive tattoo on its cheek should have been a Guild case, but dark instincts honed over hundreds of years of life compel the vampire Dmitri to take control. There is something twisted about this death, something that whispers of centuries long past...but Dmitri's need to discover the truth is nothing to the vicious strength of his response to the hunter assigned to decipher the tattoo.

Savaged in a brutal attack that almost killed her, Honor is nowhere near ready to come face to face with the seductive vampire who is an archangel's right hand, and who wears his cruelty as boldly as his lethal sensuality...the same vampire who has been her secret obsession since the day she was old enough to understand the inexplicable, violent emotions he aroused in her.

As desire turns into a dangerous compulsion that might destroy them both, it becomes clear the past will not stay buried. Something is hunting...and it will not stop until it brings a blood-soaked nightmare to life once more...

{4.5 stars}
**spoiler alert**
Pleasantly surprised. I wasn't sure how much I would like a Guild Hunter novel that didn't focus on Elena and Raphael, but I loved it. Dmitri's story is great. It does flash back alot to how he was Made, but it really works for the story. It is important that you understand what happened to him and his family so you will know why he is the way he is now. Honor has lived thru something no person should ever go through. And It becomes apparent early on that Honor is Dmitri's wife reincarnated. Which just makes the story that much better. It takes them the whole book to realize it. But watching Dmitri become something other than the cold heartless killer he has been for a thousand years was something special. Wrapped around the couple are 2 sub plots, one is Dmitri helping Honor hunt down those who kidnapped and tortured her. The other is Dmitri's past coming back to haunt him in a disgruntled vampire who wants revenge for Dmitri killing his "love". An angel who was as cruel as she was beautiful, and Dmitri's Maker. But enough of the spoilers, don't put this book aside because its about another couple, they are worth the read!!!

Monday, September 5, 2011

Elisabeth Naughton--Tempted (Eternal Guardians)

Paranormal Romance

DEMETRIUS—He’s the hulking, brooding warrior his fellow Guardians avoid. Too dark. Too damaged. And given his heritage, he knows it’s best to keep everyone at arm’s length.

Isadora is missing. The words pounded through his head like a frantic drumbeat. For her own protection, Demetrius had done all he could to avoid the fragile princess, his soul mate. And now she was gone—kidnapped. To get her back, he’ll have to go to the black place in his soul he’s always shunned. As daemons ravage the human realm and his loyalty to the Guardians is put to the ultimate test, Demetrius realizes that Isadora is stronger than anyone thought. And finally letting her into his heart may be the only way to save them both.

{4 stars}
This is the 3rd book in this series, and I feel its the best so far. Elisabeth Naughton is moving into the level of JR Ward, Sherrilyn Kenyon, and Lara Adrian (in my opinion). Even though this series has no vampires in it, it is deeply woven with Greek Mythology. We have battling Gods, Demons, Fates, Horae, Argonauts, and lots of daemons. Each book is another couple (much like most series) and Demetrius and Isadora's story is the strongest of the series. Alot happens and even more questions get answered. But as with most great series, we have enough new plot happening that has us reaching for the next book. Demetrius is the perfect brooding, need to be saved, pushing the girl away for her own good, male lead. You want to hate him one page, and then hug him the next. Isadora has been a complicated character from the first book. I could never tell how her true path in this series was going to go. She seemed like a weak, troublesome princess. But not now, her true self shines thru. When you know what really matters most to you in life, you will go to the ends of the earth to save it. She is a true Queen.  The characters are well written, and the plot moves smoothly, with enough sub-plot and layers to keep you on your toes. I can't wait to pre-order the next one....